‘CNN Ones to Watch’ Nigerian architect Kunle Adeyemi

CNN Ones to Watch’ shines a light on up-and-coming creative talent set to be the next big names in culture and the arts. In January, the show looks at the names to look out for in architecture.

The next ‘CNN Ones to Watch’ ‘master’ is international architect David Adjaye, the man behind the new Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture in the US. Adjaye tells the programme: ‘There are many buildings in the world that are great. And they’re great and they have their limits. I think what is very exciting is that there’s no such thing as a perfect building. It’s actually continually evolving, and I think that’s what’s really exciting.’

Nigerian architect Kunle Adeyemi shows ‘CNN Ones to Watch’ one of his major projects in the community of Makoko in Lagos, Nigeria. Where he has focused on building on and around water: ‘nearly 70 per cent of the world capital cities are by water. And with the impact of urbanisation, growth in these areas, merged with the issues of climate change, how do we develop these growing urbanisms around water?’

Adjaye speaks about why Kunle work is important in Makoko ‘All the criticisms of shanty towns are valid, but what you can’t level against it is its ability to respond to a human condition which is to create habitation.’

‘CNN Ones to Watch’ airs at the following times on CNN International

Friday 9 January at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1630 GMT/1730 CET 

Saturday 10 January at 1430 GMT/ 1530 CET and 2030 GMT/ 2130 CET 

Sunday 11 January at 0430 GMT/0530 CET 

Monday 12 January at 0930 GMT/ 1030 CET 

Tuesday 13 January at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1730 GMT/1830 CET 

Wednesday 14 January at 0430 GMT/ 0530 CET

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *