Former President Olusegun Obasanjo is the only living Nigerian leader absent as the country’s former Heads of State gather in Abuja, Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory (FCT) for the Council of States meeting with the postponement of the 2015 general elections as top of the agenda.

They are expected to decide whether or not it is still convenient to hold the presidential election on February 14, 2015.

President Goodluck Jonathan will be chairing the meeting, with former president.

Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Attahiru Jega, and all service chiefs are waiting to brief the meeting.

Also in attendance are Vice President Namadi Sambo; President of the Senate, David Mark; Speaker, House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal; Attorney-General of the Federation, Mohammed Bello Adoke (SAN); Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyin Pius Anyim; National Security Adviser Sambo Dasuki.

Governors in attendance include Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers), Rabiu Kwankwaso (Kano), Babatunde Fashola (Lagos), Rochas Okorocha (Imo), Aliyu Wamako (Sokoto), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun), Abdulfatahi Ahmed (Kwara), Tanko Almakura (Nasarawa), Adams Oshiomhole (Edo), Rauf Aregbesola (Osun), Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara) and the deputy governors of Borno and Yobe States.

People’s Democratic Party governors at the meeting include those of Akwa Ibom, Ebonyi, Kaduna, Cross River, Niger, Kogi, Bayelsa, Adamawa, Ondo, Taraba, Delta, Enugu, Ekiti, Plateau, Jigawa, Katsina, Gombe and Bauchi States as well as the Minister of the FCT, Bala Mohammed.

Gov. Amaechi, using his twitter account, said he will “attend the Council of State meeting” and “oppose any agenda to postpone the elections”.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});